(To Print this page, press the "Print" button on your browser. To return to the previous page, close this window.)

August 28, 2012
Alabama program for crash victims receives national recognition
MONTGOMERY – An Alabama program designed to save lives after an automobile crash was recognized today by the Governor’s Highway Safety Association at the group’s annual conference in Baltimore. The Alabama Yellow Dot Program was awarded the Peter K. O’Rourke Special Achievement Award for outstanding highway safety achievements.

Lora Weaver of the Northeast Alabama Traffic Safety Office accepted the award. Weaver led efforts to develop and expand the program from its beginnings in Etowah County in 2009 to 45 counties today. Her goal is to make the program available to residents in all of the state’s 67 counties.

“It is gratifying to see an important Alabama program gain national recognition,” said Gov. Robert Bentley.

The free program places a yellow decal on a vehicle’s back window to alert first responders to check for medical history and prescription information located in the glove compartment. Having access to an individual’s medical background permits more effective care to be provided to crash victims.

To support the program, Bentley has awarded several traffic safety grants administered by the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs.

“I congratulate Lora Weaver, the Northeast Alabama Traffic Safety Office and everyone who has worked to expand this life-saving program,” said ADECA Director Jim Byard Jr. “The Yellow Dot Program is one of many valuable initiatives supported by ADECA grants,”

ADECA administers a wide array of programs that support traffic safety, law enforcement, energy conseravation, workforce development, economic development, water resources, infrastructure upgrades and recreation.

According to the GHSA, “the Peter K. O’Rourke Special Achievement Awards recognize notable achievements in the field of highway safety by individuals, coalitions, organizations, nonprofit groups, businesses, government agencies, universities and programs.” It is named after a former California highway patrolman and GHSA chairman who worked to improve highway safety and prevent underage drinking and drunken driving.

For more information about Yellow Dot, go to www.adeca.alabama.gov/yellowdot.

(L to R) Greg Adams, Southeast Alabama Highway Safety Office; Terry Henderson, ADECA; Vernon Dolberry, Northeast Alabama Traffic Safety Office; Lora Weaver, Northeast Alabama Traffic Safety Office; Bill Babington, ADECA. Photo courtesy of Linda Johnson Photography.


Contact: Josh Carples; Larry Childers

For more information, visit:  http://www.adeca.alabama.gov/