(To Print this page, press the "Print" button on your browser. To return to the previous page, close this window.)

February 3, 2017
Appalachian Regional Commission gives students a chance to partner with top scientists in summer program

MONTGOMERY— How would you like an opportunity to work with some of the top scientists in their fields this summer?

The Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs is now taking applications for 2017 Middle School and High School Summer Science programs for students and teachers in Alabama’s 37 Appalachian Region counties. The Appalachian Regional Commission and Oak Ridge National Laboratory in Oak Ridge, Tenn. will conduct the two, all-expenses-paid learning programs for Appalachian students and teachers this July.

Twenty-six middle school and 26 high school students along with 26 high school teachers from throughout the ARC’s 13 states will be selected to participate in the programs which focus on the application of math and science principles as careers.

“This is a great opportunity for some Alabama students and teachers to get hands-on experience with the technology and ideas they’ll be seeing in the workforce through this regional partnership program,” ADECA Director Jim Byard Jr. said. “I encourage students to apply for this chance to work with some of the nation’s top researchers and scientists.”

The weeklong Summer Science Academy for middle school students allows participants to work with research scientists on math and scientific topics facing the world today. Students work in teams on research projects providing an opportunity to conduct research activities and solve problems in a group setting.
Selected high school students and teachers will participate in the two-week Summer Math-Science-Technology Institute. Students and teachers work with scientists in teams on research projects during the two-week institute.

As the manager of ARC programs in Alabama, applications must be submitted to ADECA by March 17. Applicants will be notified of their status by mail or email by early April. For more information on how to apply, visit http://orau.us/arc or contact ADECA’s ARC Program Manager Kelly Chasteen at (334) 353-2909 or kelly.chasteen@adeca.alabama.gov. Applications are also available at http://adeca.alabama.gov/Divisions/ced/Pages/Appalachian-Regional-Commission.aspx#Events.

Counties in Alabama’s Appalachian region are: Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, De Kalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Macon, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Pickens, Randolph, St. Clair, Shelby, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker, and Winston.


Contact: Russell Sellers, Mike Presley

For more information, visit:  http://www.adeca.alabama.gov/